Posted by: Kay at Suicyte | August 30, 2007

PISD

I am not a glowing open access advocate. Sure, I like the idea and hope that this will be the publishing model of the future. I also have supported OA publishing on many occasions. But unlike most prominent bloggers, I can envisage a peaceful coexistence between OA and commercial publishers. I am also unconvinced that Elsevier really is the devil, or that NPG are a bunch of sexists. And yes, I even dare to publicly talk about non-OA papers on my blog. Shame on me!

Anyway, today I noticed (via GTO) the web presence of the PISD coalition, which is truly hilarious. Of course, it is a mockup of the incredibly stupid (and widely blogged about) web page of the PRISM coalition. There are quite a number of highlights on the PISD page, most of which is written in a Q&A style. Here is a quote that I liked in particular:

Peer reviewing doesn’t cost journals anything—scientists usually referee papers for free. Isn’t that a little unfair?

It is indeed a source of consternation to many in the publishing industry that current publishing conventions provide scientists with the opportunity to referee papers at no cost.

which reminds me that I still have two papers sitting on my desk waiting to be refereed. (one OA, one not, but both at no cost. Which one should I do first? )

Responses

  1. But unlike most prominent bloggers, I can envisage a peaceful coexistence between OA and commercial publishers.

    Nooo….There can be only one. Soon Michael Eisen and “Sir” Crispin Davis will face off “Highlander” style to settle the future of publishing once and for all.

  2. An interesting idea, indeed.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

